The Spry Article featuring me is out!

               Just wanted to share this with you all. I was contacted by the editor of Spry Magazine back in December. She is the author of “Memoirs of A Former Fat Girl”. Well her book was released at the same time that my business www.formerfatgirlfitness.com started so you can well imagine that we were each contacted thinking one was the other. This is how she came to know me and my story. She was doing a piece of everyday people who had lost weight on their own and then gone on to do something in the Health/Fitness industry. I agreed to do it and this is the piece in which is published.

I want to give a special thank you to Amber Craig of www.lafphotography.com. Amber is a great friend who helped me out by taking my after photo which is in the article. Thank goodness she has a way with a camera and people. I owe you Amber- Thank You so much! Anyway, as I said above, just wanted to share. Hope you enjoy the article.

Now, as proud as I am that this article is out. Let me say this. I  understand being misquoted now more than ever. First- the part of me having one poptart instead of two, a cheeseburger instead of a quarter pounder- well… this wasnt what I said in regards to me and my own weight loss.

She asked me what advice I had for folks who had never dieted. Where should they start? Sooo I said have one pop tart instead of two, have a cheeseburger instead of a quarter pounder with cheese, etc.. The next thing was my workout video- LOL! This cracked me up. The article says I still have this video on a shelf in my den! Whoooaaaaa… Number one, I dont have a “den”, and number two, I told her this video was somewhere on a shelf amongst the many Disney VHS tapes in the kids playroom.

BUT the biggest thing of all which had me spewing coffee on my laptop as I read it was the workout! Oh Dear God help me! Mrs. Delaney asked me to put together a 3 move basic beginner workout. Something for a person who had never picked up a dumbell in their life. There was limited room in the magazine so 3 blocks for photos was all I had to work with.. Ok- no big deal. I can throw something together, right? Ummm.. I didnt realize this would be labeled,”Kim Austin’s Secret Weapon Favorite Workout!” OMG!!!!  Ok.. its soo NOT a “favorite”  of mine.. nor is it a “Secret Weapon”

I get the jist of it all, however I just hope no one out there needing to lose 100 lbs thinks doing that workout, cutting back from 2 poptarts to one, and ordering a cheeseburger instead of a quarter pounder with cheese is gonna cut it.. It takes a whole lot more hard work, determination, blood, sweat, tears and yeah.. some discomfort to meet a physique goal such as a 100 lb weight loss. Can it be done? Sure it can. I’m proof.

https://kissmyglutes.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/kim-austin.pdf

2 Responses to “The Spry Article featuring me is out!”

  1. Shell Says:

    I see your points about being misquoted lol that must be madding!
    But.. do not discount the small baby steps such as one pop tart instead of 2. WIll it get you a 100 lb weight loss no.. but it can be the 1st baby step of a 100 lb weight loss. I think that that is the just they were trying to take.
    No matter .. I am very proud of you.
    It’s people like you who keep me going. Real people doing it without surgery or gimmicks. Thanks for opening yourself up to being misquoted.

  2. Lyn Says:

    Hi Kim!! I just downloaded your PDF. I can’t wait to read it. Hope you are doing well.

    Lyn

Leave a comment